Something like a Duck

If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it's not a cat

To Hear a Who

on May 18, 2012

Today’s writing prompt for the 2012 Diabetes Blog Week ? Tell what you would like people without diabetes to know about your life with diabetes.

Horton Hears a Who! is a wonderful book by the ever popular Dr. Seuss. In 2008, Hollywood turned it into a magical movie that I relate to our lives. Our diabetic community is this tiny little speck lost onto the world. We often are not seen. We can go unheard. Our existence can be bliss in our bubble of family and friends, but society  jeopardizes our hard work, our laborious strides, and our peace of mind with half-hazard comments and blinding ignorance.  On our little speck of a world, we do not eat rainbows and poop butterflies, Katie. But “We’re a club. We’re a group. We can take a vote on the issues. We can be a secret society, and no one else can join, unless they wear a special hat!”

My Zachary’s perspective is potent. He deserves to be heard first. Last night, we had an ‘interview’ to discuss today’s topic. And I share it here with you…

Type 1 diabetes is worth your time. If you can dedicate yourself to googling ‘porcelain clowns’ or researching Steven Seagel ‘career credits’, then you have time to educate yourself on a disease that is affecting an estimated 3 million people in the United States alone. The incidence of Type 1 diabetes in children under the age of 14 is estimated to increase by 3% globally. Everyone have their listening ears on (because if you don’t use them, they will fall off)?

I know how under-educated our society is about this disease because I was of them.

“Hello. My name is Christina and I was an ignorant ass.”

Show initiative and learn of your own accord. There is far too much I am trying to teach myself in order to keep my son alive, that I cannot ‘learn you’ your part as well. I am not angry that you do not know, I am frustrated when you do not try! Ask me, and when I answer, please hear me for what I am saying. Do not interrupt my genuine efforts with your false conviction. Do not confuse what science dictates with what opinion encourages.

Secondly, I want people who do not struggle with this burden to know that I am sorry. I am sorry that I snap at you. I am sorry that I shoot daggers with my eyes when you point at his pump or his Dexcom;  murmuring when he pricks his little finger in public. I am sorry that I do not return your calls, emails, or texts sometimes.

I am tired. I am protective. Chances are I was busy not only with a family, but with this damn disease as well.

Last, but not least of all, show me a kindness. Not just me, per say. Show THE WORLD kindness. Diabetes is but one of a thousand of a million invisible afflictions (physical, developmental, or mental) that does not need your comments. We jeopardize Humanity when we choose criticism over compassion. Think as you may, speak as  you should.

“A person is a person no matter how small.”

One response to “To Hear a Who

  1. Anonymous says:

    Amazing post…hands down the best one yet! I am eagerly awaiting your next entry!

Leave a Reply

